divine

Virgin Hunter

Anything air rifle related

Virgin Hunter

Postby Nathan2312 » Mon Nov 24, 2014 12:24 pm

Well went out on my first Airgun hunt on Saturday,

I have only really been shooting at targets as i am new to the airgun hunting and wanted to make sure i was efficient with accuracy etc.

when i felt confident enough to make sure i was capable of giving a clean kill i thought it time i went out and gave it a go.

Absolutely 100% harder than using ferrets!

there where rabbits all over but every time id get into range they would vanish, i was trying to make sure i was down wind, quite and camouflaged etc, "things not needed when using ferrets" but the closest i could get was about 60 meters before they had gone.

ive never been hunting with an airgun before so guess i have to practice much more at the stealth, but Jesus it was frustrating! :mad:

been trying to pick up tips from youtube and the rabbits on the vids seem to walk into the pellets! them guys make it look pretty easy

Still cant wait to give it another go though, sure i will get there eventually :thup:
Honest honey this is the last gun I will ever need
Nathan2312
Musketeer
Musketeer
Site Supporter
Site Supporter
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Re: Virgin Hunter

Postby mathspete » Mon Nov 24, 2014 12:37 pm

:grin: Welcome to the real world of hunting stuff that doesn't want to be shot :grin: Keep working on the being sneaky and walking quietly, or try getting well hidden and playing the waiting game :thup: . Gimme a shout if you want to try using a lamp at night, I'll hold the lamp for you and we should be able to get you within air rifle range :grin: :thup:
BSA Super meteor and tornado gas ram
AA S410 TDR, Weirauch 100, Rapid 12 FAC, 5 shotguns
Anschutz 1517 &1417, Ruger 10-22 22LR
CZ 550 22-250, CZ 452 17HMR
Sako L61 270, CZ 527 .204
Lee Enfield No 4, Mauser 7.92
Parker Hale 30-06
Ruger PR 338LM
mathspete
Consul Master Hunter
Consul Master Hunter
Site Supporter
Site Supporter