divine

Introduction to Bullet Casting

Ammunition reloading for centerfire or shotgun
Forum rules
Shooters using reloading info and load data in this forum do so at their own risk. Check all loads with printed, commercially available reloading manuals and NEVER exceed maximum powder weights. The board/forum accepts NO liability for accidents! Be careful!

Introduction to Bullet Casting

Postby bev6345 » Wed Feb 10, 2021 5:47 pm

The crippling boredom of lockdown has caused me to start up a Youtube channel, it will be a mix of reviews and reloading. First video went live today, new ones every Wednesday. Any likes, subscriptions or shares would be greatly appreciated.

https://youtu.be/il3r5cNK26A
bev6345

Re: Introduction to Bullet Casting

Postby flintlok » Thu Feb 11, 2021 2:55 am

I enjoyed your video very much. I've been casting for well over 40 years and I found that you covered all of the bases nicely. The only things that I do different is that I cast outside on my back porch. That solves my ventilation issues. The other thing that I do is that I knock the lead spew into a 4 inch by 6 inch or so fiberboard box. It just makes it easier collect the spew to return it to the pot. I've saved tons of money on bullets by casting but not so much on shooting. Casting lets me shoots lots more for the same dollar value. I'll show up at the range at 10AM and shoot all day and still come home with ammo to spare. What I truly love about casting is that I can shoot long obsolete caliber in pistols and rifles were there is simply no commercial ammunition available. I've shot a US Civil War Maynard 52 caliber carbine and a original 56-56 Spencer Carbine as well as Smith and Burnside Carbines. I bought some custom cases for them but made all my own bullets. I cast my own round ball and Mine Ball for my muzzle loaders. I have a 310 Martini Cadet rifle whose chamber was bored out to accept 32-20 cartridges. The 32-20 bullet has a diameter that is to narrow for the Cadet's bore.